10 years ago, I married up!

Posted: September 7, 2012 in Life, love

When I first saw her, I understood what perfect beauty looked like.

When I first saw her teaching at that Bible study, I recognized she was the incarnation of that perfect partner for life I had been searching for.

When I learned why, for a whole month she had said ‘no’ to my invitations to go out, I first respected her integrity and loyalty to follow through with her commitments to God.

As we went out on those only-three dates, I got a glimpse of her intelligence, responsibility and genuineness of her faith.

When, while she was gone on a mission trip overseas, she told me how God had spoken to her in a dream about His idea of us being together, in a life not necessarily defined by riches or comfort but by sacrifice and ministry, I knew, not only that she was intentionally sensitive to the voice of God, but also that God had meticulously crossed our paths with a purpose.

After God confirmed in my heart through prayer and counseling that she was the one, I knew my life was just about to change.

As I placed that engagement ring in her finger -just three weeks after our first date, there weren’t many butterflies in my stomach, but there was an inexplicable assurance in my heart that this was God’s plan.

When we came together on September 7, 2002 -less than three months after the engagement, (and after a very comprehensive pre-marital counseling may I add) in front of friends and family, the commitment to obedience and follow-up of a heaven-birthed plan had evolved and grown into also passionate- ridiculously mushy gushy fairy-tale-like love… and she said YES!.

Today, after 10 years of being together, I know that she is more beautiful than then; she has been a more than perfect partner in life, I know firsthand of her impeccable character, integrity, loyalty and submission to God. I have seen and reaped the benefits of her intelligence, hard work as wife, mother, friend and worker; I have been humbled and challenged by her steadfast surrendering to the voice of the Holy Spirit in Her life.

In the last 10 years we have laughed together, we have cried together, we have dreamed together, we have mourned together, we have challenged each other, and sometimes, we have disappointed each other. In all, we know we were meant by God to be together, and by the Grace of God, we strive to see His purpose and plan and answers in everything we experience, together.

All this in just 10 years. I can’t wait for the other 90 still ahead, and growing stronger!

I love you Angela!

…to God who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, to him be glory… (Ephesians 3:20-21)

Leave a Reply

