Chick-fil-A declaration

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Business and career, Humor, Me and people, Politics

Inspired by the Chick-fil-A Appreciation day, and the many interesting –and some very ridiculous comments I’ve read today, I state:

Preamble
Making publicly known upfront that:

  1. I like steak way more than chicken
  2. Although I don’t like biscuits, they had run out of burritos this morning and therefore, I had a chicken biscuit for breakfast.
  3. I firmly believe Starbucks coffee is much better than the Chick-fil-A counterpart (in spite of Starbucks -not just management philosophical expressions, but the company’s active participation in liberal agendas that I don’t agree with)
  4. I know personally many fine young men and women who have been given great opportunities by the Chicken food company at the center of this argument

The meat
I want to categorically and unequivocally state that:

  1. I am participating in the Chick-fil-A Appreciation day NOT because of religious reasons, as I believe that:
    • It is impossible to transform society, bring salvation, make people holy or change people’s behaviors by legislation, rules, prohibitions, law or chicken burritos (Although I will admit that not having a chicken burrito can change my behavior a bit)
    • Although I have personally chosen accept the Bible to be inspired by a superior extra-human mind we call God, and I have chosen to submit to what He gives me as directives of life and conduct for my own good, I understand many others have not chosen to accept such believe and therefore are both free to do what they want (within legal boundaries) and liable for their own choices before God (that is, if God and the Bible are legit)
    • I can affect and transform society more effectively by loving my wife and kids, respecting the laws of the land, showing love and mercy to others, giving my time and resources to service and ultimately telling others what I believe, why I believe it and how that belief has transformed -and daily affects my life.
    • If one person is persecuted for standing for and doing what God demands, There is not much I can help with –by eating a chicken sandwich. God will take care of protecting and blessing that person. –and that type of situation is inevitably going to be more and more prevalent and common our times
  1. Instead, I am choosing to go all-chicken today, because of political reasons, as I believe that:
  • We live in a free market society and as a consumer I can chose who I give my money to, and since I have to eat today anyway, I may as well give it to a company that is clean and neatly run and also gives lots to charity endeavors both nationally and regionally but also locally to the store level –of which I have been benefactor of.
  • The people of Chick-Fil-A have the right to believe whatever they want and since they have not broken any laws (i.e. unfair hiring, disrespect to employees or customers etc), they have been victims of an unfair attack agenda (from the political and democratic stand point). If I expressed what I believe –without breaking any law, and my business were attacked with lies and other maneuvers such the one we’ve seen against CFA, I would appreciate and welcome support as well.

I am me, and I approve this statement!

Leave a Reply

