Seniors graduating: Congratulations!

Posted: May 26, 2012 in Business and career, Leadership, Life, Me and God, Me and people, Parenting, The Bible

I remember when I graduated from High school. we said to each other: “Keep in touch!”, “we have to hang out!”, “we’ll be friends forever!” and many other never-fulfilled promises that inundated our hearts as we said “good bye” to the past and “bring it on!” to a future as uncertain as everything else at that age.

Looking back, twenty years later, I did not keep in touch with many –or anyone really. I barely hung out with some of my friends for just a few months. Truth is, only one of my early childhood friends remains even today as my best friend –after my wife of course.

The grades didn’t matter that much -but did help to open doors. The bad moments, pains and hurts didn’t mark me forever -though I learned from them. The break ups and heartbreaks were seemingly insignificant in the big scheme of things -but I would have rather avoided the wasted time and emotions. The dreams that never came to fruition, were only shadowed by better paths laid on my way.

Only one thing I remember that was true then, has been truth ever since and is even truer today.  The more I seek to be in good fellowship with God –that God that many in my high school class made fun of, the better things seem to go; the better I feel, the better I can face circumstances in life. Likewise, the more I ignore that subtle voice in my heart and discretely do things my way – or openly and willingly rebel against what I know God wants for me, the worse I feel in living life, in facing the downs and lows… and even when facing the good stuff, being out of that fellowship with God made it almost worthless.

Some will go to ivy league schools, some may not even go on to college. Some will make great grades and great salaries, some great grades and no salaries, some no grades and better salaries –there is not one specific rule –other than the one that, time and time again, I have seen fulfilled in my life. From experience I can tell you:

seek to do the things that please God, and every other thing will be alright.

From this point on, it is up to you, it is your choice and your call. You can do things God’s way -with or without some people’s approval, but knowing with certainty that the end will be the best possible, or do things your way -even pleasing others, and risk reaping the potentially and very likely painful fruit of your unwise choice. Like that famous philosopher said:

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…” ― Dr. Seuss, Oh, the Places You’ll Go!

Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

