Predestination and breastfeeding

Posted: April 24, 2012 in Life, love, Me and God, Me and people, The Bible, The Church

What does Predestination and breastfeeding have in common?
Or The Rapture and breastfeeding?
Or innocent babies dying, and breastfeeding?

They were used by David as a contrast.

The tough matters: Often times as Christians –and even skeptics, we get very much wound up with complex questions and difficult concepts about God and the Bible. “If God is good why does He allow suffering?”; “do we have a part in choosing God or is it all His will?”; “If He is the one who chooses, isn’t it unfair to the non-elected?”; “Is the book of Revelation mostly futuristic and yet to happen or mostly history and already fulfilled?” These are just some of the questions that Christian theologians have debated for centuries even to the point of causing splits within the church. Should we even worry about ‘the right answer”? Certainly!. The Bible encourages and commands us to study and understand God’s character and plans. However, this search for can become a search for knowledge alone, thus leaving us empty in the heart and love levels.

To this, David writes in Psalm 131:1: “My heart is not proud, O LORD, my eyes are not haughty; I do not concern myself with great matters or things too wonderful for me”. It appears that it comes a point where we are to acknowledge our limitations in understanding to ‘get’ concepts that may be way above our heads. Sometimes we may need to just accept that two concepts apparently contradicting for us, may make sense in God’s higher level of understanding.

What about breastfeeding?. Imagine a little baby who is being nursed by his mom. Physiologists say that babies see and think of their moms as an “extension” of their body… especially when they nurse. Usually a few months later, they are weaned, and they stop having that intimate relationship with their mom through nursing. Can you imagine how much a baby must MISS and DESIRE his mom when he is weaned? For pretty much all his life he has known and seen his mom at every meal time cuddling him and touching him as he eats; that, my friends, is fellowship at the deepest level…. and now it seems to be gone. or at least, from the baby’s point of view, it has changed forever.

David contrasts that search for ‘wonderful truths’ with a more heartfelt and humble attitude. Psalm 131:2 reads: “But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with its mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me

It appears that, more important that understanding fully all of those ‘great matters’, it is to be still and deeply long for and desire God’s presence and fellowship.

Maybe as we long, seek and desire God’s fellowship first –like a weaned baby, we will be able to better understand the “great matters” of life

Psalm 131
1 LORD, my heart is not haughty, Nor my eyes lofty.
Neither do I concern myself with great matters,
Nor with things too profound for me.
2 Surely I have calmed and quieted my soul,
Like a weaned child with his mother;
Like a weaned child is my soul within me.
3 O Israel, hope in the LORD
From this time forth and forever.

Comments
  1. Mark Hanley says:

    Thanks for sharing
    Interesting verses
    Mark Hanle

Leave a Reply

