What would you do with 300 million?

Posted: March 30, 2012 in Humor, Life

Ever find yourself daydreaming with “What would I do with 300 million?”. In case you were wondering, I have, and this is my action plan:

– Since the amount before taxes is about $500 million and my first fruits are to go back to God, my church would be happy to receive at least a $50 million tithe check; down to $450 million.
Taxes off the total amount come to be about $200 million; down to $250 million.
Dave Ramsey would suggest saving 10% or 20% for future and retirement –but, who needs $25 million for retirement?. Let’s put… hhmm $5 million down for retirement investment to live off the rest of our lives (that should give us $100k a year to live very comfortable the next 60 years); down to $245 million
– Let’s say I go crazy buying a new house, a house at the beach (to let Jonathan use it for vacations); new cars (no, not Mercedes, normal cars …); down to hhmm, let’s say $244 million….

Now what?

–  May be funding 500 church planters and missionaries for the next 5 years?
–  May be funding the adoption of 8,000 orphans?
–  May be funding 5,000 low-income-high-achieving students to go to college?

At any rate, I am not buying the lotto –I doubt it is a good statistical strategy.

The chances you will get murdered in USA: 1 in 8,000
The chances of dating a super-model: 1 in 88,000 (Although I got that one… and I married her)
The chances of being stroke by lightening: 1 in 576,000
The chances of an American male being Tom Cruise: 1 in 150,000,000
The chances of winning the 500 MegaMillons: 1 in 176,000.000

Instead, I can spend the money of a ticket on a nice dinner with my wife.

Who knows? Maybe I wouldn’t have the self-discipline to be a good steward of $300million. For now, I need to be a good steward of what I have –like my job (by the way, I am in a conference call right now just in case you wondered :))

Enough time wasted, back to work… In the meantime, how would you spend $300 million?

Comments
  1. I thought about this on the drive to school this morning. After doing all the 1st things you listed, I would give my family members (& Eric’s) a few million each. Then, I would set up a non-profit to fund as many adoptions as I could. That’s ALOT of orphans finding a home. A LOT.

    Oh, well. We don’t play the lotto either. So, I guess we better concentrate on what we’ve been given. Cause this is still my dream!

    Mandy

  2. Scott says:

    I would pay of the mortgages of all my friends houses…. then buy an island or something.

  3. Reblogged this on Thoughts with accent and commented:

    A re-look at the chances of winning the Powerball

Leave a Reply

