Today I am thankful *to God*for…

Posted: November 24, 2011 in Holidays, Life, Me and people

So, it’s Thanksgiving day, right?, so…

– Today I am thankful *to God* for a father who took me to church and instilled, in my early years, values and awareness about God. (and didn’t name me Dorco).

– Today I am thankful *to God* for a  mother who sacrificially and courageously raised us in the toughest circumstances teaching us by example about hard work and honesty (and how to sew, iron my shirts, make my bed, etc).

– Today I am thankful *to God* for learning English and, after many years, understand what I was singing to the tune of Guns ‘n Roses, Metallica and Iron Maiden (what was I thinking?)

– Today I am thankful *to God* for a fun job that provides for all my family needs.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for a church full of honest loving people who strive to love and serve God.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for friends who ask challenging, pointed questions (i.e: Eric).

– Today I am thankful *to God* for a car-gift with mp3/USB player so that I don’t have to listen to 104.7 The Fish that often.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for healthy smart children who slept well as babies, and never had bad feelings about their soon-to-be-born-new-siblings -and they cover a variety of colors.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for my wife who manages to be part of our kids milestones (first word, first step, first this, first that) as she stays home, while she also works, succeeds professionally and bring some additional $$.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for the turkeys, the pilgrims, and Indians –whatever the true story was.

– Today I am thankful *to God* for Tweeter, Facebook, Google, Wikipedia, Biblegateway, Blueletterbible, David Guzik, Joe Focht, Acts29, MS excel, WordPress,  and Android.

Excerpts from “The proclamation” that sets the precedent for America’s national day of Thanksgiving issued by the President of the United States of America in 1863, Abraham Lincoln:

“… To these bounties, which are so constantly enjoyed that we are prone to forget the source from which they come, others have been added, … to the ever watchful providence of Almighty God. …peace has been preserved with all nations, order has been maintained, the laws have been respected and obeyed, and harmony has prevailed … … is permitted to expect continuance of years with large increase of freedom. No human counsel hath devised nor hath any mortal hand worked out these great things. They are the gracious gifts of the Most High God, who, while dealing with us in anger for our sins, hath nevertheless remembered mercy..”.

“It has seemed to me fit and proper that they should be solemnly, reverently and gratefully acknowledged as with one heart and one voice by the whole American People. … to set apart and observe the last Thursday of November next, as a day of Thanksgiving and Praise to our beneficent Father who dwelleth in the Heavens. …, with humble penitence for our national perverseness and disobedience, commend to His tender care all those who have become widows, orphans, mourners or sufferers in the lamentable civil strife …

Psalm 50: 14 Offer to God thanksgiving, … Call upon Me in the day of trouble; I will deliver you, and you shall glorify Me.”

Comments
  1. Vilma says:

    AMEN to that!!!

Leave a Reply

