Feelings about Osama Bin Laden

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Life

I see many God fearing and very ‘righteous’ people condemning what, for others, is a celebration of victory. They quote Bible verses and claim love and compassion. I don’t know what to say -perhaps I am not as kind and loving as some seem to be… but I would like to.

A few years ago, my house was broken in. Thieves broke a window and found their way into my home. The fear and sense of ‘insecurity’ after the event and feeling that our privacy had been violated was something I had never experienced. The thought of a stranger walking through my bed room, looking at my kids toys and my wife’s personal belongings, awoke all kinds of feelings. My wife was afraid, I was afraid and  we wanted to know that whoever had crossed illegally the limits of our privacy would be caught and locked not to ever do it again to us or anyone else; we wanted justice.

A few years later, after a long process of cooperating with authorities, the two suspects were caught, prosecuted and condemned.  How did I feel? I felt relieved no questions about that. However, one spin in the story explain why some level of sorrow and sadness took over my heart. The bad guys were actually just a couple of teenagers whom would have had a whole future ahead of them -a whole life..just if, they had not ruined it …for a few bucks. Part of me wanted to help them and get them out of their consequences of their actions. On the other hands,  the professionals in this area suggested that releasing them would not do them any good.

I know this was just a burglary case, but I wanted justice, I felt relieved when it finally came and, in a sense, I felt sorry for the consequences to the perpetrators.   I cannot even imagine the desire for justice that those  friends and relatives  of the 3000+ lost in 9/11 felt. I couldn’t help but feel relieved when I saw a whole nation-wide objective brought to fruition. I’ve seen how military personnel sacrifice their personal life’s to protect our country.

Was Osama BinLaden comparable to the young teenager who ruined his life with a bad choice, when he broke into my house? Perhaps one could make the case that in God’s eyes, he was just another precious soul who made mistakes like any of us have. I wonder what those who claim love and mercy today would do if they or their loved ones are the affected ones by injustices.

At any rate, and I hope not no be in error, I am choosing to celebrate that human justice is been served and I will let God handle His perfect justice on the other side of eternity.

… For rulers hold no terror for those who do right, but for those who do wrong. Do you want to be free from fear of the one in authority? Then do what is right and you will be commended. 4For the one in authority is God’s servant for your good. But if you do wrong, be afraid, for rulers do not bear the sword for no reason. They are God’s servants, agents of wrath to bring punishment on the wrongd. – Romans 13

PS. click here for a a very balanced opinion on a Christian view of this topic at hand by Joshua Harris

Comments
  1. Lisa says:

    Great post Luis…and I agree with you.

  2. heather joy says:

    Amen, and Amen. Thank you for this post.

  3. […] Feelings about Osama Bin Laden (Thoughts With Accent) […]

Leave a Reply

