A week after the Easter hype

Posted: May 2, 2011 in Holidays, Me and God

A week ago, we celebrated Easter. Twitter, Facebook and other social media were inundated with “He is Risen” type of messages. On that Sunday two thousand years ago, Jesus had risen from the dead, conquering sin and darkness. That day, after showing up to a few women, He appeared to His disciples. One of the disciples however, was missing from that meeting: Thomas. Though his fellow friends told him they had seen The Lord, Thomas responded with the famous doubtful words “Unless I see in His hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and put my hand into His side, I will not believe.” (John 20:24)

Today, a week later, Twitter, Facebook and the news outlets are flooded with messages about the end of Osama Bin laden. My first thought was “Go Special Forces!” Thank you for all of those men and women who sacrificed their personal and family lives in order to do what most of us couldn’t!”. But then a while later, I started wondering –“well, really?, did it really happen? Is it true or is this some sort of elaborated conspiracy?”. Well, it is what it is; I know what the media is telling me and what my limited access to the evidence leads me to conclude.

This moment of doubt for me, was not much different from what, a week after The resurrection, happened in the upper room. Remember doubting Thomas? Well, He got the proof he was looking for. John 20:26 reads:

 “And after eight days [from Easter… today] His disciples were again inside, and Thomas with them. Jesus came, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, “Peace to you!” Then He said to Thomas, “Reach your finger here, and look at My hands; and reach your hand here, and put it into My side. Do not be unbelieving, but believing.”

Perhaps you are passed the hype of Easter and the daily troubles and problems have started and continued to creep in and steal from you the joy of resurrection. Perhaps the excitement of Passion Week didn’t reach as far as this ‘next week’ and now you are –yet again lost in the worries of today; the economy, the relationships, the kids, the weight, your job, your lack of job et etc.

Perhaps, as Thomas, you have said “I believe You are Lord and God”. Perhaps you as I, need to be reminded that we “walk by faith”. May be Jesus’ words to Thomas will ring today deep inside your heart in a personal way as a reminder that with or without hype, on and after the holiday, in the valley and in the storm, we can count on Him and His favor towards us:

“Blessed, happy, worthy of the divine approbation are you when you place your confidence, hope, expectation and trust me, even when you have not seen me with your physical eyes“ (pp John 20:29)


Leave a Reply

