Pain for love

Posted: October 11, 2010 in love, Me and God

Yesterday, for the first time in my life, I got stung by a bee; a Yellow Jacket (go Tech!). What a painful experience …and unnecessary may I add.

I wish I could tell you that the reason I got stung was bcause I was being brave defending one of my chldren from the brutal atack of one of these beasts; or that I was keeping my lovely wife from the chances of this excruciating pain -but no, that was not the reason.

Although I had been for a while trying to keep bees away from my wife and kids as we enjoyed a good time at a birthday party at a park, the way I got stung was shamefully dumb and … ridiculous to say the least: A bee comes into a cup with soda, gets inside of it and -smart-Luis thinks it would be a funny move to cover it,,, BANG! or should I say, STUNG!!

This however, on a serious note,  reminds me of a story I heard one day about a good father who, in defending his children from a bee inside the car they were traveling on, caught the bee into his hands and waited until it stung him. After the pain (because believe me, it is painful), he -the father, let the bee go. The kids were scared again but the father explained to them that the bee was now harmless because it-the bee, had already left the stinger in his hand, (Not the case for Yellow Jackets by the way) thus it could not sting them at all. It was like lion without teeth; a lot of fuuuzzz but not much of real danger….

That story paints a picture of what God did for us ; Jesus defeated death on the cross by taking the painful pain -the weigh of the sin of the world on His holy shoulders so that we would not have to. This pain -death, can no longer control us. It’s been said: “born once die twice; born twice, die once.”

“Death has been swallowed up in victory.”[g]
“Where, O death, is your victory?”
“Where, O death, is your sting?”[h]

The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law.

But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

1 Corinthians 15: 54-57

Leave a Reply

