“…Sometimes working hard is not enough…”

Posted: July 23, 2010 in Me and people

This has been an interesting week. Through the study on the book of Proverbs that we are doing at Graystone, a couple of topics have stood up in my mind:

One, is the on of working hard and not being lazy; saving, being diligent and honest with my employer. In a few times I have felt as if God was speaking directly to me -and He was, abut making sure I gave my all as far as the time and efforts I put into doing what my employer pays me to do.

Workers, , obey your bosses in everything; and do it, not only when their eye is on you and to win their favor, but with sincerity of heart and reverence for the Lord. 23Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men, 24since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the Lord as a reward. It is the Lord Christ you are serving – Colosians 3:22-24

This sometimes is hard, particularly in this economy, bringing results (Simply put, I am in charge of sales for a government contractor) is not easy. Sometimes working hard is not enough to bring results to the board of directors. At any rate, this week I have felt ultra encouraged to give it all.

This topic of being successful at work -which in my work role means making money, is interestingly and paradoxicly coupled with the second topic: not loving this world and its possessions; not desiring the success and ‘stuff’ that the bad guys may have; it is discouraging to see the crooked business guy win the contract and you, while following the rules, losing it. With all that, the book of proverbs direct us in the path of trusting in God’s ultimate justice and deliverance.

Funny enough, it was a good week as far as immediate results and potential opportunities. I, finally, after a couple of years of hard hunting, obtained an interview with a key player with whom good things may happen business-wise.

The message for me this week from the book of proverbs was simple: work hard, dont love the material and trust in The Lord.

By the way, I looove my wife!!

Leave a Reply

