Truer than the news

Posted: July 7, 2010 in Science, The Bible

A few months ago, after a long day of work in DC, I got ready to go for a relaxing walk through Union Station.  As I walked out of my hotel on N. Capitol Street, all of the sudden I was filled with what my wife calls ‘star-struck’; right there in front of me, just a couple of steps away was Bret Baier. If you don’t watch FoxNews, you may not know who he is; Bret (or perhaps I should say Mr Baier) leads the opinion/news show ‘Special Report’ every day at 6pm. It is one of my favorite shows and I watch it when I can –especially if I am out of town.

I didn’t know what to do. “Should I talk to him?” –“no, that is immature, let’s leave him alone!” –“wait, he may like having a ‘fan’ talking to him”, -“nahh”.. on and on for a few seconds my brain considered.

I just couldn’t fathom the amount of valuable opinions and key information he could have; what an insight. After all, if you want to KNOW what’s going on in the world, a good starting point may be the news.

This week, it got me thinking that we sometimes tend to consider what we watch on tv as true, reality –actuality (No advertisement for TruTV™). At the same time some people consider the Bible as a good recollection of thoughts and moral recommendations –“whether they really happened or not”. Some people agree that Jonah & the big fish or Adam & Eve or David & Goliath are ‘good stories with a good message’ but, “Did they really happen?”

The good news is that from a logical and intellectually honest  point of view, The Bible is the only sacred book in the whole world that proves itself as inspired by a higher being out of time and human limitations. Unlike the Qur’an, Bhagavad Gita, Book of Mormon, Jehovah Witnesses’s Bible or any other sacred book in the world, the Bible is completely congruent, consistent –even in what it predicts for the future, and decade after decade, verified by archeology and science.

When you read the Bible, from Genesis to Revelation and discover that it recounts 6,000+ years of human history while sustaining one core message and flow without contradiction, in spite of having been written by forty different authors with different education and backgrounds, on three different continents and languages over a period of more than fifteen hundred years, you have no other option but to understand that this book –The Bible is more real, true and relevant that any other document, instruction manual, sports scores, news report, tv show or new philosophy.

The best part is that unlike my awkward encounter with Bret Baier, you can actually talk to, interact with and have a heart- to-heart relationship with the author.

“…For I alone am God! I am God, and there is none like me. Only I can tell you the future before it even happens. Everything I plan will come to pass, for I do whatever I wish….I am ready to save …” from Isaiah 46

Anyone who can put together such masterpiece as God did, you want to hear what he has to say about your life.

Comments
  1. Angela says:

    you are smart. Glad you are my husband! XOXO

  2. […] I have written about personal topics such the typical ”about me“, my cologne , my travels , lost friendships, and even famous people I’ve met. Holidays, politics and some music have […]

Leave a Reply

