Do you…. smell ?

Posted: July 3, 2010 in Me and God

Have you ever been asked very personal questions by a stranger and out of the blue? My wife experienced it quite a bit during her pregnancy –people don’t seem to know about boundaries and privacy; or if they do, there is something that compels them to ignore them.

Well, I have somehow experienced this on my own –without being pregnant 🙂 . You may think this is weird but, at the very least once every week I get someone who asks me: “what cologne do you use?”

Today, it was a cashier, last week another retailer; a few weeks prior, my dental surgeon; before that, multiple fellow passengers on deferent airplanes, hotel employees and newly-introduced people in business meetings and on and on  –even at church.

How –good, I guess, is the smell of my cologne that people dare to break the personal privacy invisible wall and venture into asking “hey, what’s your secret?” –I would imagine it takes at least a bit of humility and daring courage to ask someone that kind of question, or at least it would for me.

Well, it’s just cologne. But, think about it, what would it take, how awesome would it be if instead, people asked me: “why are you so different? –in a good way” or “why do you act like this or talk like that  –in a so-good-way that it inspires me to imitate you?”

What would It be like if every week (at the very least), people asked me “I want to know that God you talk about and believe in”; “I want to smell like you”.

2 Corinthians 2 reads: “Now thanks be to God who always leads us in triumph in Christ, and through us diffuses the fragrance of His knowledge in every place. For we are to God the fragrance of Christ among those who are being saved …..the aroma of life leading to life. “

About my cologne, I don’t use any fancy designer’s name brand.   Instead, I actually use a very regular one purchased at Wal-Mart.

About the other fragrance, that’s an expensive one, worth the life of an innocent One on my behalf. I hope I can, day by day, sacrifice my desires and spend more time with Him  –Jesus, in prayer and reading His Word -week in and week out, and get His smell that will attract and cause people to inquire: “hey, what’s your secret?”, because I can’t wait to tell them!

Do you smell good… or do you stink?

Comments
  1. […] then, I have written about personal topics such the typical ”about me“, my cologne , my travels , lost friendships, and even famous people I’ve met. Holidays, politics and […]

Leave a Reply

